## Cyngor Tref Castell Newydd Emlyn

# Newcastle Emlyn Town Council

### **Mayor Making 2019**

The Mayor Making Ceremony was held on Wednesday 15<sup>th</sup> May 2019 at Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn, Newcastle Emlyn at 7:30pm.

Present: Councillors and invited guests.

<u>Apologies:</u> Received from various guests including Mayoress of Lampeter, Inspector Gareth Jones, Ken & Ruth Jones, Rev Aled Gwyn, Chair of King George V Playing Field, Leader of the Scouts.

- 1. Cllr Cefin Evans outgoing Mayor encapsulated his year in office and then presented certificates in recognition of achievement to: John Fletcher Moylegrove, Tom Knott Jones Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn, Lily Rees Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn, Leia Vobe NCE, Alice Walters NCE, Reps. Of NCE Hockey Team. K & R Jones had received their certificate in their home[due to ill health]
- 1. Cllr Alan Jones was elected as Mayor. This was proposed by Cllr Cefin Evans, seconded by Cllr Peter Lewis and passed by the Council unanimously.
- 2. Cllr Alan Jones read and signed the acceptance of office.
- 3. Cllr Alan Jones proposed a vote of thanks to the outgoing Mayor, this was seconded by Cllr Allan Davies and passed unanimously.
- 4. Cllr Cefin Evans was elected as Deputy Mayor. This was proposed by Cllr Barry Evans and seconded by Cllr Jayne Ludgate.
- 6. Cllr Cefin Evans read and signed the acceptance of office.
- 7. Cllr Alan Jones appointed Reverend Aled Gwyn as his Chaplain for the ensuing year.
- 8. Cllrs H Evans, O Little and M Webley presented flowers to the Mayoress & Out going Mayoress as well as buttonholes to the outgoing Mayor & new Mayor
- 9. Mr Emyr Evans played the piano prior to the commencement of the Ceremony and for the singing of the National Anthem. Entertainment was provided by Mr Andrew Lemon who played the Saxophone an ex pupil of Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn. Light refreshments followed the Ceremony prepared by Popty Bach y Wlad.

## **Annual Meeting 2019**

The Annual Meeting continued and was held at The Committee Room, Cawdor Hall on Thursday 16<sup>th</sup> May 2019 at 7:30pm. The Mayor, Cllr Alan Jones presided.

Present:- Cllrs. Kelvin Baker, Allan Davies, Barry Evans, Cefin Evans, Hazel Evans, Peter Lewis, Odette Little, Maureen Webley. Clerk:- Stella Jones. Police – PCSO Jeff Kedward. Also Present was member of the press

1. Apologies –Cllr Jayne Ludgate

#### 2. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

The minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting had been accepted as correct in the June 2018 meeting.

- 3. Matters arising There were no matters arising.
- 4. Membership of Outside Bodies

One Voice Wales:	Cllr Hazel Evans & Clerk
Playing field:	Cllr Maureen Webley
Swimming Pool:	Cllr Cefin Evans

Hanes Emlyn: Cllrs Peter Lewis & Maureen Webley

Signed	Date
9	

Cofnodion Cyfarfod Blynyddol Cyngor Tref Castellnewydd Emlyn – Annual Meeting Minutes of NCEmlyn TC 16/05/19

Emlyn Traders:	Cllr Odette Little
Mart	Cllr Kelvin Baker
Emlyn Hall	Cllr Barry Evans
Fair Trade	Cllr Odette Little
Twinning	Cllr Allan Davies

#### 5. Election of Committee Members

<u>Town Council Planning Committee:</u> (6):- Deputy Mayor. Cllrs. Peter Lewis, Odette Little, Maureen Webley, Allan Davies with Cllr Hazel Evans as CC representative

<u>Finance Committee:</u> (7):- Mayor & Deputy Mayor. Cllrs. Kelvin Baker, Cefin Evans, Hazel Evans, Allan Davies, Peter Lewis

Procedures Review: (5):- Mayor & Deputy Mayor. Cllrs. Allan Davies, Hazel Evans, Jayne Ludgate, Maureen Webley

<u>CCTV & Christmas Lights Committee:</u> (6) Cllrs. Alan Jones, Allan Davies, Kelvin Baker, Barry Evans, Cefin Evans, Peter Lewis

IT Committee: (4) Mayor & Deputy Mayor, Cllrs Allan Davies, Peter Lewis, Jayne Ludgate

#### 6. Mayors Allowance

The Mayors Allowance to remain at £800.00

## 7. Clerks, Hall & Toilets Caretakers Salary

This is to be reviewed in the forthcoming Finance Committee which will meet before the June monthly meeting.

#### 8. Financial accounts

i. The Annual Accounts have been audited by Internal Auditor Mrs Ann James and were formally accepted by Council.

Payment of Accounts - £150.00 as for last year.

ii. Financial Check List - the following to be reviewed in the next Finance Meeting

Monthly Rental:- To be reviewed every June & then if there is a motion for increase this will commence in September – Finance Committee to look at this in their next meeting

All units are on lease at present – Unit 1 by Karen Wilkinson - £161 per month

Unit 2 by Laura Calvert - £161 per month

Unit 3 by Paula McCreary -£143.07 per month

Unit 4 by Diane Newman - £173.33 per month

Annual Rental: - Attic Theatre - £2,600.00 this will be paid annually by Standing Order

<u>Market Hall Metres</u> – metres to be read quarterly by Sally Thomas and then billed by the Clerk – if there are vacancies this should then be resumed as units are leased.

Precept - check for receipt in April, September & January

**VAT claim** – when there is a large amount to claim or at the end of April annually

May - review of Clerk's Salary by Finance Committee along with Hall & Toilets Caretakers

#### 9. Appointment of Internal Auditor for Financial Year 2019/20

It was unanimously agreed that Mrs Ann James of Capel Iwan should continue Auditing the accounts and to be paid the sum of £150.00.

# 10. Standing Orders

These were I	looked at	with the t	following	adjustments	to be made
Page 1. 2b C	Change fr	om 2 <sup>nd</sup> we	eek to 3 <sup>rd</sup>	week in Ma	y.

Page 2. Change Quorum to consist of 5 members and not 4.

Page 4. Notices of Agenda to be received 3 clear days.

Page 6. Change to read as it should

Signed	Date
•	

# 11. Constitutional matters

It was agreed to continue to hold meetings on the third Thursday of every month except for August and December when there will be no meetings.

AGM meetings [in Cawdor Hall] in future to commence at 7pm not 7.30pm

There being no further business the meeting was closed at 8.00pm

<u>Dates of 2019 Meetings:</u> June20th, July18th, September 19th, October 17th, November 21st. <u>Dates of 2020 Meetings:</u> January 16th, February 20th, March 19th, April 16th, May 20th&21st

W Evans & George were appointed as solicitors for the Town Council for the year 2019/20, and should be advised of this.

Signed	Date	